Menu Close

Almut G. Winterstein, RPh, PhD, FISPE

Consortium Director

Winterstein Headshot

Distinguished Professor, Pharmaceutical Outcomes & Policy 
Dr. Robert and Barbara Crisafi Chair for
Pharmaceutical Outcomes & Policy

College of Pharmacy
University of Florida

Almut Winterstein, RPh, PhD, FISPE received her pharmacy degree from Friedrich Wilhelm University in Bonn, Germany and her PhD in Pharmacoepidemiology from the Charité Humboldt University in Berlin, Germany.

She holds the position of Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy at the College of Pharmacy, and an affiliate appointment in the Department of Epidemiology at the Colleges of Medicine and Public Health and Health Professions, both at the University of Florida.

In 2017, she was named the Dr. Robert and Barbara Crisafi Chair in recognition of her research on evaluating drug safety and effectiveness in real-world populations and on devising ways to improve medication use.

Since joining the UF College of Pharmacy in 2000, Dr. Winterstein has served as principal investigator on more than 25 extramurally funded grants and contracts and published more than 300 manuscripts and conference abstracts. Her research interests have centered on the post-marketing evaluation of drugs in pediatrics and perinatal care, infectious disease and psychiatry and the evaluation and improvement of quality surrounding medication use using real-world data.

As an internationally recognized expert in drug safety, she has chaired the Food and Drug Administration’s Drug Safety and Risk Management Advisory Committee from 2012-2018. Recognizing her contributions in pharmacoepidemiology, Dr. Winterstein was inducted as a fellow of the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology in 2013 and started her term as president-elect of the society in 2018.

Before she became department chair in 2016, Dr. Winterstein served as graduate program director in her department, which included responsibility for a MS program for the FDA. She has chaired a total of 21 PhD committees and has served as member on several others in her department, and the Departments of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Statistics.