MEETING MINUTES

Consortium for Medical Marijuana Clinical Outcomes Research: BOARD MEETING

Thursday, June 20th, 2024 at 3:00 pm (EDT)

Remote Connection via Zoom

Board Members Present (none absent):

Martha S. Rosenthal Christopher R. McCurdy Eric H. Holmes Jacqueline Sagen William Anderson Dinender K. Singla Charles A. Weatherford Max C. E. Orezzoli Peter Holland

Team Members Present:

Robert L. Cook Almut G. Winterstein Yan Wang Md Mahmudul Hasan Jeevan Jyot Allison Veliz

Opening Remarks

Dr. William Anderson, chair of the Consortium board, called the meeting to order at 3:04 PM EDT and welcomed all board members and requested Dr. Almut Winterstein to provide the Consortium funding update.

Consortium Funding Update

Dr. Almut Winterstein, director of the Consortium, welcomed everyone and informed the board that the Consortium will receive \$1.5 million funding as in previous years. A budget request was submitted this year for nonrecurrent funding via the Consortium's government relations representative and the request is still pending. Dr. Almut Winterstein handed the meeting over to Dr. Jeevan Jyot to discuss the Grants program summary and scoring method.

Discussion of Grant Proposals Scoring Method

The Consortium received 32 Letters of Intent (LOIs) and after review, full proposals were invited from 28. However, only 26 applications for the grant program were received. Those proposals were reviewed by out of state ad-hoc reviewers with demonstrated expertise in the respective research area, using NIH scoring guidelines.

Drs. Almut Winterstein and Jeevan Jyot provided an overview of the scoring method. Board members and Consortium faculty in attendance that had conflicts with reviewed proposals were removed from the Zoom room while discussions were taking place. The Board began discussion on funding the renewal of the three level 2 awards from the 2023 grants cycle. Based on the evaluation of the year 1 progress reports and a discussion of other considerations, the board agreed to grant second year funding for two proposals. Dr. William Anderson recommended the board triage proposals submitted in this cycle that had an overall impact score of 3.0 or higher. All members agreed and the remaining proposals were discussed in order, starting from those with the best overall impact scores.

Review of Grant Proposals Based on Reviewer Scores

Based upon the suggested approach, the individual proposal together with the reviewer comments were discussed in detail. Dr. Jeevan Jyot briefly described each proposal to the board, highlighted reviewer concerns and initiated discussion. The board members also assessed each proposal's relevance to the Consortium's research mission, immediate clinical and/or demonstrable translational relevance to inform medical use of marijuana and outcomes of its use, as well as responsiveness to the Consortium research priorities. Based upon the eligible funding, the board agreed to fund four proposals for the one-year level, and two proposals for the two-year level.

Vote on Grants Program Proposals

Dr. William Anderson asked for a final vote from board members regarding the discussed funding approach. Dr. Eric Holmes motioned to vote, and Dr. Martha Rosenthal seconded the motion. All board members present voted in favor of funding the six proposals and continuing the second-year funding for the two 2023 Level-2 proposals. No board member opposed the decision, and no board members abstained from voting.

Public Comments

The Chair invited comments from the public and none were submitted.

Voting for New Chair & Vice-Chair of the Consortium Board

Dr. William Anderson made a motion to nominate Dr. Max Orezzoli as the new chair of the board. Dr. Dinender Singla seconded the motion. All board members were in favor of voting Dr. Max Orezzoli as new chair of the board. Dr. William Anderson made a motion to nominate Dr. Dinender Singla as the new vice chair of the board. Dr. Christopher McCurdy seconded the motion. All board were in favor of voting Dr. Dinender Singla as vice chair of the board. No board member opposed the decision, and no board members abstained from voting.

Thank You to the Outgoing Chair and Vice-Chair

Dr. Almut Winterstein extended a thank you to the outgoing chair and vice chair, Drs. William Anderson and Martha Rosenthal, for their years of service.

Closing Remarks

Dr. Max Orezzoli. new chair of the board, thanked the board members in appreciation for their work. Dr. William Anderson, outgoing chair of the board, thanked the board members for their helpfulness and for allowing their respective institutions to work together.

Adjournment

Dr. William Anderson adjourned the meeting at 4:47 PM.